The reigning champions of the Aiteo Cup, Bayelsa United have been eliminated by Nigeria National League side, Green Beret of Zaria, Kaduna while former champions, Enyimba and Enugu Rangers have also been bundled out of the 2022 edition of the cup competition.

Bayelsa United broke some sort of record when as a Nigeria National League, NNL campaigner surmounted all odds to emerge winners of the Aiteo Cup after defeating Nigeria Professional Football League, NPFL side, Nasarawa United in Benin City last year on penalties.

However the NNL side desire to defend the crown this year have been truncated by Green Beret following a 5-4 penalty defeat at UNEC Stadium, Enugu yesterday in a Round of 32 fixture after the full time failed to produce any goal.

Former champions, Enyimba were beaten by Niger Tornadoes 6-5 on penalties after a goalless full time while Heartland came back from behind before defeating 2018 winners, Enugu Rangers at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Benin City.

Ossy Martins shot the Flying Antelopes ahead in the 29th  minute but Nonso Nzediegwu equalised in the 65th minute before the game was concluded via penalties. Heartland triumphed 8-7 on penalties after Christian Madu who had his spot kick retaken lost both kicks to hand the Round of 16 slot to the Owerri side.

Akwa United thrashed Remo Stars 3-0, Bendel Insurance stopped the run of Ottasolo 4-3 on penalties after a 1-1 draw at full time in Ilorin while Wikki Tourists, Kano Pillars, Sunshine Stars, Lobi Stars, Katsina United, Oyo state Housing Corporation, Nasarawa United, Kogi United, El Kanemi, Dakkada are the other teams that progressed to the Round of 16 whose matches hold this weekend.



Bayelsa United 0 Green Beret 0 (4-5 penalties)

Enyimba FC 0 Niger Tornadoes 0 (5-6 penalties)

Doma United 0 Lobi Stars 3

Akure City Academy 2 Bendel Insurance Feeders 1

Rangers Int’l 1 Heartland FC 1 (7-8 penalties)

Sunshine Stars 5 Rovers FC 1

Cynosure FC 1 Katsina United 3

Remo Stars 0 Akwa United 3

Kogi United 2 Kanta United (5-4 penalties)

DMD FC 0 Housing Corporation 0 (4-2 penalties)

Zamfara United 0 Kano Pillars 5

Fulfill FC 0 El-Kanemi Warriors 1

Kwara United 1 Wikki Tourists 1 (3-4 penalties)

Bendel Insurance 1 Ottasolo FC 1 (4-3 penalties)

Sokoto United 1 Nasarawa United 1 (10-11 penalties)



Green Beret Vs Niger Tornadoes

Lobi Stars Vs Akure City Vs Niger Tornadoes

Heartland FC Vs Dakkada FC

Sunshine Stars Vs Katsina United

Akwa United Vs Kogi United

DMD FC Vs Kano Pillars

El-Kanemi Warriors Vs Wikki Tourists

Bendel Insurance Vs Nasarawa United